Tony Stewart Enters An Exclusive Club

Three Time Sprint Cup 2011 Champion - Tony Stewart

Three Time Sprint Cup 2011 Champion – Tony Stewart

The Over 40 Champions Club

Only 8 Drivers, over 40, have been crowned Champion in Nascar’s history. The most recent came in 2011 when 40 year old Tony Stewart won the third of his three Nascar Sprint Cup Championships.

Tony is also the only Driver in Nascar’s history to win the top Championship title under its three modern sponsors; Winston Cup, Nextel Cup and the current Sprint Cup.

And he’s also the only current driver to win under the old point system and the new race to The Chase point system.

Tony enters the Over 40 Club and joins some of the greatest drivers in the history of Nascar!

1. Lee Petty
Lee Petty, another 3 time Champion won the first of his three NASCAR Cup championships in 1954 at age 40. He also won the title in 1958 and 1959.

2. Joe Weatherly
Two time Champion Joe Weatherly won his first Cup championship in 1962 at the age 40. He won the title again in 1963.

3. Richard Petty
The King – Richard Petty won his record seven NASCAR Cup championships in 1964, ’67, ’71, ’72, ’74, ’75 and ’79. His last championship crown came when he was 42 years old.

4. Bobby Allison
The great Bobby Allison only won one Cup championships — in 1983. He 45 years old at the time. With 84 career victories, it’s amazing he only acquired 1 Cup championship.

5. Dale Earnhardt Sr.
Dale Sr. didn’t break The King’s 7 Cup victories; but he did tie it. Winning 6 of those Championship titles back-to-back. His last one, in 1994, came at age 43.

6. Terry Labonte
Winning his first NASCAR Cup championship in 1984, Terry picked up two Cup titles (so far) in his Nascar career. He won his second Cup title 12 years later in 1996. He clinched the title six days before his 40th birthday. But Sports reporters still consider that an over 40 win.

7. Dale Jarrett
Dale won more of his career Cup races after he turned 40 than before. Winning only 8 races before his 40th birthday, Dale won 24 times, including his 1999 Cup Championship after 40. He won the championship at age 42.

8. Tony Stewart
Entered the Over 40 Club with spectacular drama and excitement. Entering the 2011 Chase with no wins he picked up 5 victories in the 10 race chase. Tying Carl Edwards in points, the title was determined by the number of wins and that went to Tony.

His exclusive entry into the Over 40 Club wasn’t the only milestone of his 2011 Championship title either. As reported in USA Today “Tony Stewart storms to Sprint Cup title with win in finale

“..the title was significant for several reasons for Stewart, who became:

•The first champion to win the season finale in 13 years (and the seventh ever).

•The first driver-owner to win a title in NASCAR’s premier series since Alan Kulwicki in 1992.

•The bookend to Jimmie Johnson’s unprecedented five consecutive championships (Stewart was the last before Johnson to win a title in 2005).

•The first champion in the Chase era to win five races in the title run.

Stewart (whose first title was in 2002) also joins Cale Yarborough, Darrell Waltrip, Lee Petty and David Pearson as a three-time champion. All are in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

He did so with perhaps a clutch performance rarely seen in NASCAR’s 63-year history. Stewart roared back twice (passing 118 cars over the course of 400 miles) after falling outside the top 30 twice in the first 40 laps.”

He has made his mark in Nascar’s history and is destined to be one of its greatest drivers and long time owners for years to come!

© This material is the intellectual property of Author Springwolf
© 2013 Evil Wordsmith. All Rights Reserved.